JBL Pulse 2 Review

This is my review of the JBL Pulse 2 wireless Bluetooth speaker. When I bought my JBL Pulse 2 speaker almost a year ago the price was $160.oo. You can find it on amazon here.

Out of the Box-

The speaker arrived in a dented box, which had me concerned at first. The inside of the box was fine however, and it had a very nice presentation. There was a USB wall charger, very long micro USB cable for charging, and the speaker itself. The simg_87761peaker looks very nice, with controls on the back, and a rubber flap covering the charging port and aux input as the device is splash proof.

The Sound-

I found the sound of the JBL Pulse 2 to be amazing. There is clarity throughout all the volume levels, and there is no distortion at max volume. There is a prominent amount of base, and the mids and highs are very clear. The volume can easily fill a large room, and is a very enjoyable experience.

Features-

The JBL Pulse 2 comes with a 6000 mAH battery, which is said to be able to play up to 10 hours. I found this to be accurate as I get around 8-10 hours of play between each charge. It also is splash proof. This I know to be true as I have used it near the pool, and near a hot tub where it has gotten wet. I trust this device whenever I am using it with my friends or family near a wet environment. The main feature of the device iimg_87821s its lights. I find the lights to be spectacular to look at in the dark, and I have had many comments about how it looks. There are many different light shows that are very customizable through the JBL Connect App. There is also a camera at the top of the device which allows for color matches to occur. All you do is hold the camera up to a certain color and the Pulse 2 will match that color theme the best it can.

The App-

JBL has an app for IOS and Android to connect to your JBL speakers. The app immediately recognized my device as I was connected to it via Bluetooth. It showed an image of the Pulse 2 and had the battery life, an update notification, and the light changer. After updating (took around 15 minutes) I had access to all the amazing light shows. There are such options as an equalizer, wave effect, fire, rain, and many more. Through the app, each of these light shows has their own special effect. The special effects mainly consist of making the light show larger or smaller, but some, such as fireworks, allow for the user to tap on the screen, and an additional effect is added. For the case of fireworks, when you tap, a large firework goes off on the screen, and the Pulse 2 displays a red heart with a white background. I found these effects very fun to play with and show off to my friends.

Recommendation-

Would I recommend this product? Yes! The Pulse 2 is priced at a very reasonable amount for what it does. Whenever my friends or family see this speaker with me, they ask me about it and are in awe with how cool it is! It is used all the time and is as good as it was when I got it! It can easily be enjoyed at the pool, or my favorite: the beach. The device can easily stand up to the environment, so it can be taken wherever you go. I have gone on many vacations with this speaker and it has fulfilled all my needs. A warning if traveling with this: if you are going on an airplane to travel and bring this with, take it out of your bag as you are going through security, because I have been stopped for bag check because of this! Good luck and I hope I helped with your buying decision!

Leave a Reply

